Winter Must Haves

IMG_2314

So… it’s still winter and with the absolutely frigid temperatures we have been facing here in the midwest #hello-3beforewindchill, it has been pretty difficult to keep everything feeling soft and nourished. But, here are a few absolutely lifesaving products I have found to be really helpful and have since been using to combat everything from fly-aways to a flaky nose.

Laura Mercier Creme De Pistache Body Butter – I’ll be honest. I would have bought this just for how delicious it smells. It is the grown-up, more authentic scented cousin to a packet of pistachio pudding. I forgo perfume and pretty much sniff my arms all day when I wear this. Aside from that, it is extremely moisturizing. It comes out of the tube as a thick cream, but absorbs quickly and doesn’t leave an oily residue on the skin.

Weleda Skin Food – This lotion doesn’t smell quick a delicious as the following, but it does have a lovely lavender scent. Like the following, however, it is seriously moisturizing. This does tend to leave a bit of a residue on the hands for a few minutes post application, but I like to apply it before I put my gloves on to really give it some time/ help to sink in. I have been using this lotion on the regular, and my knuckles and cuticles haven’t looked so good in a long time.

The Body Shop Vitamin E Overnight Serum-in-Oil – I am fairly certain I can attribute the current  #flawless state of my skin to this little gem. I got this product shortly before Christmas and began using it once a day and gradually upped my usage. This goes on as an oil, and is slick enough that you can really massage it into your skin without any pull or friction. Then, amazingly it absorbs into the skin leaving behind no greasiness. I absolutely adore this oil. I think that it has really cut the redness out of my skin, as well as preventing the dry patches I tend to accumulate on my nose this time of year. Bonus, this oil has a light powdery scent, and it light enough but also moisturizing enough that I often wear it as my sole moisturizer without anything on top.

I.C.O.N. India Oil – Lastly, but certainly not leastly, is this hair oil. I first tried this oil as a sample in a Birchbox, and then I convinced my mom to buy me a full sized bottle last year for Christmas (thanks Mom). This oil has the most amazing, sexy, cinnamon/spice-y scent. It is delicious. I have been asked on multiple occasions what I am wearing, and it was actually just this oil. Anyway, aside from the beautiful scent, it is also really moisturizing (are you picking up on the trend?). I like to apply a two pea sized amount of this on the ends and through the length of my hair after heat treating it. Immediately after application, hair does look a little oily, but after a few minutes, it is completely absorbed and leaves hair feeling soft and beautifully scented.

Has anyone tried any of these products before? Leave any comments and questions below. Thanks for reading!

1 Comment

Filed under Hair, Skincare

One response to “Winter Must Haves

  1. Creme de pistache smells divine! well, all Laura Mercier body products do! love them! lots of xx, Annie

    http://www.anniesbeautyblog.com

Leave a Reply

