5 Primers

IMG_1482

I’ve only really gotten into wearing primers in the last 2 months or so, but I’ve managed to amass a small collection nonetheless. Here are the five primers I own, and my thoughts on them.Starting on the left, is the most used and most loved primer in the bunch. I adore Maybelline’s Baby Skin Primer. This stuff is seriously So. Good. I have never found anything that makes my face feel so smooth and hides my pores so well. I use this mostly around my nose and across my forehead and it leaves my skin feeling incredibly smooth with a lovely matte finish. It is the perfect base for most the foundations I have used, especially those with a matte finish.

Next is the Almay Smart Shade CC Luminous Primer. Honestly, I have mixed feelings about this one. I don’t like to use it all over my face, as it can make me look a bit too glowy. I think that this one is best used on the bridge of the nose, browbones, cheekbones, and a touch on the chin. If used sparingly and under foundation, it can give a lovely “lit from within” look, but it is easy to go overboard. This isn’t my favorite, but I do like to use it if I’m feeling a bit dull.

In the middle, is the Clarins Beauty Flash Balm. This primer very nearly stole the #1 primer position from Baby Skin. I really like this primer as well. Interestingly, it can be used under foundations as a primer, but also as a 10 minute energizing mask. This primer moisturizes, gives radiance (without being sparkly or shimmery), and smooths over dry patches, fine lines, and pores. The only thing I don’t love about this primer is its shiny finish. It’s gone as soon as foundation is applied over it, but it doesn’t have aย matte finish.

Fourth is Stila’s One Step Correct Primer. I think that this primer is overhyped. I don’t think that it color corrects to the degree that the packaging implies. It does a little bit, but not very much. I will occasionally use this on my cheeks if they are looking a bit ruddy, but I could honestly live without this primer.

Lastly is Benefit’s The POREfessional Primer. This primer isn’t my favorite, but I don’t hate it either. Baby Skin is a really good dupe for this primer, and I think it is better. I find the texture of POREfessional to be a bit thinner and less long lasting. I probably wouldn’t buy this one again, but that is because I have a more affordable option that I prefer.

Anyway, I hope you enjoyed reading about a few of the many primers on the market today. For a more in depth review of how the Maybelline Baby Skin Primer and the Benefit The POREfessional match up, check out my Drugstore Dupes Post here. Feel free to leave any comments or questions in the box below. Thanks for reading!

Leave a comment

Filed under Beauty

Leave a Reply

