Drugstore Dupes?

IMG_1211I thought it might be fun to have a post today on possible drugstore dupes for higher end products. Here is what I think matches up, my review and recommendation. Enjoy!

IMG_1214

1. Dior Lip Glow Lip Addict vs. It Cosmetics Je Ne Sais Quoi – These products are very similar. They have a different color in the tube, but the same texture. I do think that the Dior gets a bit more pink than the It Cosmetics, but that could be because it is more pink to begin with. I like the packaging on the Dior more, and the prices are pretty similar, so I would have to go with the Dior.

IMG_1216

2.  Hourglass Ambient Light Powder Dim Light vs. Covergirl Smoothers Translucent Light – These powders are actually pretty different color-wise, although I think that if I had the Covergirl in a shade darker, they would be almost identical. These powders are very similar in terms of finish and in “shimmer content”. They are both quite illuminating, but not so much that they can’t be worn everyday (and I’m not a huge shimmery fan, especially on my cheeks). Although I love the packaging and marble finish of the Hourglass, it is so much more expensive, so I would have to go with the Covergirl, even though I really do love the Hourglass and don’t regret purchasing it at all.

IMG_12133.  Nars Velvet Gloss Lip Pencil in New Lover vs. Mirenese Glossy Kiss in Perfect Kiss – If you have looked at the swatch of these two, you know that the color isn’t very similar at all. They are very similar in texture, finish, and shimmer content. I got the Mirenese as a sample in my Birchbox. Despite the fact that I technically paid less than $10 for it, I prefer the Nars. I like its color, slightly more sheer finish, and packaging.

IMG_1217

4. Benefit Pore-fessional Primer vs. Maybelline Baby Skin Primer – These products look pretty similar. The Benefit is tinted and comes out in a thinner line. The Maybelline is clear and comes out in a thicker line. Once on the skin these primers feel and look exactly the same. The Maybelline is a quarter the price of the Benefit, so I would go for the Maybelline if I were to repurchase one.

I hope you enjoyed this post. Let me know if you would like to see more posts like this in the future, or if you have any suggestions for me! Thanks for reading.

3 Comments

Filed under Makeup

3 responses to “Drugstore Dupes?

  1. i love this! I did a review on babylips dr rescue,do you mind checking out my blog?

  2. Pingback: 5 Primers | it's a beautiful beast

Leave a Reply

