The Morning Edit

IMG_1036

Hey everybody, sorry for skipping a day. This week has been INSANELY busy for me. I am the Technical Director of a huge show that is happening on campus tonight and of my time has been devoted to it this week. But to make up for my absence, I present The Morning Edit. A week or so ago I posted about the products I use as I’m getting ready for bed. Today’s post is about the products I like to use as I’m getting ready in the morning.  I don’t use all of these everyday, but all of these products are towards the top of my morning favorites list. They are just nice things that make the morning a little bit easier, and let’s be honest, who doesn’t like that?

IMG_1039

IMG_1042

I kind of think of this set of products as two categories: face and other. By “other” I basically mean products that I don’t use on my face… obviously, but more specifically shower and hair products. I like to start off my morning by using eye drops. I like Rohto’s Cooling Eye Drops. They are really refreshing and the coolness helps me feel more awake. Then before I shower, I like to use Liz Earle’s Hot Cloth Cleanser. This was the first cleansing balm I ever used. I got a sample of it in my Birchbox a few months ago and fell in love, and promptly ordered the full size. It has the texture and creaminess of a lotion, but it almost melts into the skin and then you gently buff if off with a wash cloth and warm water. The cleanser smells very nice, slightly herbally (it has eucalyptus and rosemary extracts), and it leaves your face feeling soft, but also fresh and clean. Then while I am in the shower I like to use Lush’s Rose Jam Shower Gel and Ro’s Argan Skin Conditioner. I received both of these in an adorable gift set for Christmas. They both smell like roses, duh. I find that the body wash creates a nicely scented, thick lather. The skin conditioner is kind of like lotion you apply in the shower. You rub some of it on your skin and then you rinse any access off. Then once you’re out of the shower and dry off, your skin is already moisturized. I like the streamlined feeling of it all and that the scents of the two products work well together.

Once I am our of the shower and my hair is in a towel, I apply Dr. Brandt’s Glow. I have been reading about the effects of retinol on skin texture and coloration, which led me to start incorporating products with retinol into my daily lineup. I like this product quite a bit. Several of the retinol produces I have tried are too harsh for me to wear in the morning because they make my face red, but I don’t notice that with this one at all. It does smell a bit chemically, but I find that the smell goes away after application. After this I like to apply Mario Badescu’s Rose Hips Oil. I have raved about this product before. I love it and think that everyone could probably benefit from using it.

At this point, I like to take my hair down out of the towel and gently comb it out. Then I apply I.C.O.N.’s India Oil. This stuff is crazy awesome. I love it. This is another product I discovered through Birchbox and then I was fortunate to get the full size for Christmas. This oil is so moisturizing and smells so good; it has a spicy scent, kind of like cinnamon and cloves. It is so good! After the oil, I rinse and dry my hands. Then I apply a facial lotion. Lately I have been using Elizabeth Arden’s Matte Moisture Lotion. I got this really inexpensively at T.J. Maxx. I find that it is just enough (in combination with the Rose Hips Oil) to keep my face feeling soft all day, if it isn’t too windy. If there is wind, all bets are off.

Anyway, I hope you liked learning a little about some of the products I use in the mornings to get ready. Check back over to the weekend to hear how my show went on Friday and to see my review on a new cleanser. Thanks for reading.

Leave a comment

Filed under Beauty, Hair, Makeup, Skincare

Leave a Reply

