February Beauty Haul

IMG_1028

IMG_1034

IMG_1031

So like I said yesterday, I went and visited Trent over the weekend. I also stopped at an Ulta while I was out of town and picked up some new treasures. One of these is a repurchase and the rest are all new. I have liked everything I have used thus far. Anyway, here are my thoughts on my latest beauty haul.

Smashbox Full Exposure Palette: The blogosphere has kind of exploded about the release of this palette. It is beautiful. It is also unique in that it has a neutral daytime eyeshadow and then a coordinating, shimmery eyeshadow. I do really like this palette. I also really like the brush that is included in the palette. On one end of the brush there are long, natural bristles which I have found is good for applying general eyeshadow across the lid. The other end has 2 types of shorter bristles, natural on one side and synthetic on the other. I think that the short, natural bristles are good for applying shadow in the crease, while the short, synthetic bristles are great for applying the shimmery eyeshadows. This was a good buy; I am glad I picked this up.

It’s a 10 Plus Keratin Conditioner: This is the best. You should probably go out and but it right now. I have found that my hair has been a bit drier than normal lately. I have been using oil on the ends, which has helped, but it hasn’t really been enough. I used the It’s a 10 Plus Keratin Conditioner all summer to help my hair “reset” after all of the styling in the school year. It was the first product that I thought of to help me out right now with dryness.

Bare Minerals Lash Domination Mascara: I have read quite a bit about this mascara recently and one of my housemates has it and loves it, so I figured I would give it a go. I have used it everyday since I purchased it and am finding that I do like it quite a bit. The mascara is fairly thick, but somehow doesn’t really clump. I will say that I have found it is easy to overload your lashes with this mascara, but I suspect that this is because I am using a new tube.

 Tarte Amazonian Butter Lipstick, in Pink Peony: This purchase was made on a bit of a whim. I have forever looked for a lip product whose color is “my lip, but better”. I have never really achieved this because my lips are a different sort of color, apparently. Anyway, I saw this and swatched it and was really pleased with the color. This color is a bit more coral than my lips are in real life, but it isn’t a significant difference and I think that for spring the slightly brighter color will be fun. The formula is creamy, and applies well, but isn’t too heavy and pigmented. It is sheer enough that it can be worn everyday and is in a nice place between matte and glossy, that looks natural.

Deborah Lippman Nail Polish, in La Vie En Rose: I haven’t actually used this polish yet. There are two polish colors that I really gravitate towards, coral and pale pink. I really like Deborah Lippman nail polishes. I have found that they apply well and last. This color is slightly more blue than most of the polishes I have and it has a very, very fine gold shimmer. I am looking forward to wearing pastel versions of the classic “pink nude” a bit closer to Easter, and I will definitely being reaching for this polish first.

CK One Nail Polish, in Capitaliste: As I just mentioned, I love pale pink and coral nail polishes and this polish is a gorgeous coral. I have way too many coral polishes, but gave in to the temptation to buy this one anyway because it is a gelly polish. I love the look of semi-sheer polishes, so bright and shiny! I also haven’t tried this polish out yet, but I am also excited to.

Urban Decay Naked Lipgloss, in Love Child: This is purchase was also on a bit of a whim. Several of the other blogs I read have talked about it, so I decided to try it. I am not normally a lip gloss gal. I hate sticky lips and I don’t like shiny lips much either. Having said this, I don’t hate this lip gloss. As lip glosses go, this is probably one of my favorites. I like the color I selected, the slightly minty flavor, and the relative “matten-ess” of the finish. I wore this to my Valentine dinner on Saturday and felt rather put together while wearing it.

Thanks for reading again. Are there any new products that you have tried lately and love?

1 Comment

Filed under Hair, Makeup

One response to “February Beauty Haul

  1. What a lovely range of eye shadows!!
    That lipstick is very very awesome. 🙂

Leave a Reply

